Here’s a super fun (and colorful) wedding from the amazingly talented Erin J. Rexroth.  Jessie & Phil married on March 6, 2010 at St. Francis de Sales Catholic Church (the church Jessie grew up in) followed by a super fab reception was at Whitehall Manor in Virginia.

From the bride…
Phil and I met at college at the University of Dayton in Ohio. A few weeks into my freshmen year (his sophomore year) a mutual friend invited me over to a get together at Phil’s dorm room. I laid eyes on him and immediately told my friends he was off limits. After finding out he had a girlfriend, I reluctantly gave up on him and it wasn’t until 4 years later about 2 months before I graduated college that we crossed paths again. His band was playing at one of the college bars and I messaged him that night saying what a great job his band had done and we decided to meet up the next night. From that day on we were never apart and I graduated college and we both relocated to the DC area. It’s funny because when we started dating I knew he was the one because he was really the first boy I was interested in at college and met him a few weeks into my freshman year, and he was the last boy I was interested in college as we started dating right before I graduated college. Funny how life works out sometimes 🙂

Anyways, we started dating on March 5, 2005, and we got married the day after our 5 year anniversary. So forever we’ll have a 2 day anniversary!

Jessie, on her dress… Finding my dress was a whole ordeal. I had this vision of what I wanted and I just couldn’t find it. Trust me, I went to 22 stores, I counted! Finallly I ended up buying the first dress I tried on at the first store and just had a seamstress make changes to it so that it would look like what I had envisioned. You really have to trust your seamstress though, and mine was incredible, but I was still nervous that I would be ruining my dress! I ended up having my streamstress change the neckline to be a sweetheart neckline and she added buttons all the way down to the train and she did an amazing job. I LOVED my dress and I loved the fact that technically, I’m the only one in the world with that dress.




From the bride… I love blue, as you can tell by my wedding colors, were blue and blue.  (Ya know, like the colors in Julia Robert’s wedding in Steel Magnolias, “My colors are Blush and Bashful. “Her colors are Pink and Pink”) Yep.  My wedding colors were blue and blue. Anyway, I started noticing a trend where brides wear different color shoes (usually red) instead of the traditional white shoe. I’m tall (5’10) and have a really hard time finding shoes without a monster heel so I knew finding white shoes I liked would be hard. I got this idea that what if I wore blue shoes as my something blue. I figured finding blue shoes I liked would be easier than finding white shoes I liked. I was wrong and it ended up being harder than I thought haha but I found this amazing website (ninashoes.com) and you could pick out your heel height and shoe color from a list of 5 shoe styles. I found my shoes and then my seamstress told me about shoe clips (basically clip ons for your shoes to bling them out a bit, www.absolutleyaudrey.com ) and I found a pair that matched my jewelry and I was all set. I would have to say that my shoes were my favorite part of what I had on!


From Jessie… It’s funny because everyone says that your wedding day flies by and they’re right! It’s hard to pick 1 favorite part because the whole day was a blur so I would have to say my favorite part of the day was the way I felt all day long. I was so giddy and genuinely happy. I was so nervous right before the ceremony and as soon as I started walking down the aisle, all the nerves just disappeared and I just felt so happy. Like giggle like a school girl happy. I’ve never felt that feeling like that before and I have to tell you it was amazing.


The bride, on her cake… I also LOVED our cake. Carolyn from Taylor Made Cakes did such an amazing job. Whitehall Manor was built in the early 1800s and we loved the look of it and all the architectural details. We decided to put that theme in our wedding so we designed the cake to have some of the same details that the molding had throughout the house. Carolyn put our vision together beautifully and deliciously! We were so happy with her work.




Jessie on her photographer… And of course, I happen to think we had the best photographer ever! Erin from Erin J Photography captured moments that I didn’t even know were there! Looking back at all our pictures I can see the happiness and excitement I felt on that day and I’m so happy with the job Erin did.



