First, I hope you all had a FANTASTIC holiday and an even better start to your brand new year! I have t share super exciting news and the story that goes along with it!

A couple of weeks ago my best friend M’s boyfriend J called me at work. The moment I saw his name pop up on my caller Id, I knew what was coming. It went a little bit like this.

J: Nina, I need your help.
N: Oh yeah?
J: I’m at the jewelry store. You need to tell me what kind of ring M wants.
N: Oh my god. Really? Wait. um. I think… wait. oh god. Um. Can I call you back in ten minutes?

Then I hung up on him. Of course M had told 100 times exactly what her dream ring was, but for the life of me I could not think of anything except that episode of Sex and the City when Miranda helps Aiden pick out Carrie’s gold, pear-shaped diamond ring, that she finds and hates.

Bad.

I did not want to be Miranda.

So I did what any self-respecting bestie would do. I went through my email. I knew somewhere there was at least one email with ring settings attached. I typed in “Her name, ring” and hit ENTER. Bingo. Two emails popped up. One was from 2007.

Seriously.

I sent that immediately to J, and then realized there was yet ANOTHER email from 2008. Better to go recent right? I  sent that one, with the disclaimer to IGNORE PREVIOUS EMAIL. Done. Square setting, circle stone. Sent.

I talked to J a couple of times throughout the day, and when he decided to finally buy THE RING, I think I was more excited than he was. J, was so excited he wanted to run home and put that sparkly little guy in her burrito for dinner.

He didn’t.

Instead he drove from Maryland to New York the day after Christmas, (Two weeks of secret keeping and ignoring all of M’s calls on my part here) with the plan of proposing to her that night after dinner. Instead, he proposed the minute he pulled into her driveway, in the rain. He couldn’t wait any longer. She was completely surprised, shocked and thrilled. So was everyone else.

Honestly. It was the hardest secret I have ever had to keep, but I’m so glad I didn’t say a word. That is NOT something you want to ruin ladies.  I didn’t trust myself, let alone anyone else, and letting this secret get out would have ruined everything. Trust me I wanted to tell EVERYONE, but when you’re asked to participate in something like this, do yourself a favor, play by the rules, and do what you’re told. Because the SURPRISE is totally worth it!  Check out M’s beautiful, beautiful, beautiful ring below. So excited for you M&M!

