You’ve all seen Steel Magnolia’s right? If you haven’t, shame on you. Stop what you’re doing and go add it to your Netflix que. Seriously. It’s a classic.

Anyway, in it Julia Roberts character, Shelby gets married with her signature colors, “blush and bashful” and then dons a matching pink suit to head off to her honeymoon. Do people still do this? Cameron Diaz puts on a honeymoon suit at the end of My Best Friend’s Wedding too. I don’t know.

I think there’s something kind of nostalgic and wonderful about the “Going -Away Outfit”.  Newlyweds used to skip the brunch the next day and head out in some classically vintage car into the night.

I’m not sure it happens anymore, except maybe in the south, but I’m really on board with bringing it back.

Carrie opted for a suit for her actual courtroom ceremony to Big in the end… but I’m really left to wonder…

Can you have your dress and still depart in a suit?

I LOVE Stephanie James Couture dresses. Perfectly vintage. Perfectly elegant. Perfect.

Seriously check this out. AMAZING, AMAZING , AMAZING. The fact that the photographer is stellar as well (Ben Blood Photography) helps too!

Photo Courtesy of Stephanie James Blog & Ben Blood Photography

Photo Courtesy of Stephanie James Blog & Ben Blood Photography

So yes, I do love, love, love their dresses. But, I love their suits more. They are AMAZING. You can dress me up in that any day. Doris Day meets Jackie O is serious vintage glam.

Gracie Suit by Stephanie James Couture

Gracie Suit by Stephanie James Couture

As featured in Jacksonville Magazine

As featured in Jacksonville Magazine

You can always check out Ralph Lauren for some suiting options.

Suit by Ralph Lauren

Suit by Ralph Lauren

But seriously… I call for a comeback.
Anyone?

