Um. Yes. What is wrong with you?

Alright. Here’s the thing. Thank you notes can be a huge pain. HOWEVER. There is really no excuse to NOT send thank you notes out after your wedding. It’s your WEDDING. It doesn’t get any bigger than that.

The very first wedding I attended as an “adult” (I was in my early twenties) required money for a shower gift, wedding gift and travel to leave my wallet forever.  I never got a thank you note for the shower gift, and I never got one for the wedding gift. But neither did anyone else. Seriously. What is up with that?

Let me break it down for you. 150 of your closest friends just bought you a seriously expensive gift that YOU picked out, slapped some serious cash into a card, rearranged their schedules, paid for a rental car, a hotel, a new dress, stomached plastic tasting potatoes and watered down vodka tonics, and paid attention to you for at least one whole day. (two days in some extreme cases).

You best find 5 minutes to say thank you.

I don’t really understand why etiquette is dying. I’m not saying the prim and proper laws of Emily Post still stand, but remember what your mother taught you… always say “please” and “thank you”.

Kind of necessary kids.

Here’s why you’re ultimately screwing yourself over if you don’t send a thank you note after your wedding.

Someday… most of you will have children. You’ll invite a lot of those people that came to your wedding and bought you pretty, sparkly things to your baby shower too. This is a sure fire way to ensure your child will come into this world with a room full of rattles and bibs without a crib to sleep in. I’m not saying one is entirely related to the other… HOWEVER, how likely would you be to spend money on a gift for someone who can’t even bother to say thank you from the first go around?

That’s what I thought.

Don’t do it.

Technically, you have a year to send a thank you note from your wedding. Personally, I think it’s best to get it done early. I’m not saying you should spend your honeymoon licking stamps, but you should get it done as soon as you get back. If you keep putting it off, you’ll never do it, and your friends will wonder allowed if their note got lost in the mail someday, inadvertently igniting a series of whispering conversations about how no one has received a thank you card yet…

Do you really want your friends talking about your poor wedding form? 

Oh, also. Email thank you notes are not allowed. If you want to go the extra mile and send out both, absolutely go for it. My Invitation Link has great personalized options for digital thank you notes. But you better buy bulk to send out some handwritten thank you notes to ANYONE who bought you a gift.

It’s really bad form not to.

Check out My Invitation Link’s latest  blog post about this too.

