I killed my lavender tree this weekend. I know… what kind of mother am I? Neglectful apparently. It was so pretty too. And with the sunshine trying to show up and spring peeking around the corner,  and me killing my plant and all… all I can think about is gardening.  (Even though it’s been proven that I’m not so great at it)

I want to be great at it.

Since I live in a city that is not exactly conducive to gardening… I think about all the things I will try not to kill someday, someplace else. I dream about tulips and hydrangea and overflowing pots of mint perfect for a an afternoon mojito. Yes. Dreams. At least until I move out of the concrete playground. Here’s some inspiration for Spring in today’s WED Favorites, and by the way lovely favors for spring time weddings.

 

Butter Cream Birdhouses- Greenware Design by Etsy $40

Butter Cream Birdhouses- Greenware Design by Etsy $40

This is so cute. And small enough that I might not kill it immediately. They’re hanging planters for our tillandsias (aka. airplants)… just keep in a warm spot and mist with a water bottle (perfect for bathrooms…the plants love the humidity and moisture left in the air post-showering). Care instructions included. (THANK GOD)

 

Plantable Favors from Greetings That Grow (Etsy) $5 for 10 tags

Plantable Favors from Greetings That Grow (Etsy) $5 for 10 tags

 

The tulip tags were made using sheets of strawberry colored forget me not seed embedded paper, which Anna at Greetings That Grow hand made and cut herself using all recycled materials. Each tag is packaged separately and comes with clear instructions as to how to plant the seed embedded paper once you are done with the card. Really cute idea for a springtime bridal shower.

 

Japanese Bird Bells- Red Envelope $39.95

Japanese Bird Bells- Red Envelope $39.95

I kind of love wind chimes. They can have the creepy factor at times, but then I think about them on porches that overlook oceans and lakes and it seems like it should be ok to hang bells shaped like birds over your window. I like these. They’re a little different, but still pretty fun.

 

Umbrella Rain Chain- Smith & Hawken $119

Umbrella Rain Chain- Smith & Hawken $119

Ok. This is not a shower or wedding favor. But it’s very cool, and worth throwing on a registry somewhere. Copper turns green when it weathers, (officially- it develops a mellow patina over time)  which is pretty beautiful. So this copper umbrella chain is perfect for a side yard. Hang above a basin or rain barrel to conserve rain water, or use in place of a downspout to direct the flow of water.  Plus it sounds pretty. 

