My mother is an artist, so it seemed common place growing up to have a mother who could create beautiful things so easily. As I’ve gotten older though I have developed a greater appreciation for art, particularly those beautiful creations around my house.

I started giving artwork as birthday gifts to close friends and family a few years back. I mean, here we are in our twenties…. with very naked walls.

If you have a beer brand, a pot leaf or Jim Belushi on your wall, you need to trade up…fast. Preferably to something in a frame.

(No. Jim Belushi in a frame is not ok either. Go throw that away.. now.)

But here’s the thing about giving art as gifts…it’s really, really personal. You can’t just give anyone any piece of art. When you’re looking at something you should be very sure the person or people you are gifting are going to love it. It needs to match their style and ultimately mean something to them for a very long time.

For me, art is like jewelry. I love receiving it because I admire it, but often don’t buy myself very much of it.

I have a few go to artists that I truly love, and probably always will, but there are so many beautiful options out there for a relatively affordable amount of money to give as wedding gifts.

I’ll say it again though. Art is non returnable. So be very sure what  you’re giving them is something that they will like. Especially if you’re dropping a good chunk of change on it.

Here are a few of my favorite artists. Art is totally objective. Find options that work with your world.

Storypeople is one of my favorite, favorites. I have a few framed prints and I love the note cards they have too! My roommate in college gave me one for my birthday ages ago and they have been a great go-to gift for birthdays, graduations and showers.You can purchase prints for $30 and framed prints for $35. They also have fabulous furniture, books and other gifts!

Side By Side $30- Storypeople

Side By Side $30- Storypeople

We sat side by side in the morning light & looked out at the future together.

Mr. Right - Storypeople $30

Mr. Right - Storypeople $30

He loved her for almost everything she was & she decided that was enough to let him stay for a very long time.


True Things- Storypeople $30

True Things- Storypeople $30

They came to sit & dangle their feet off the edge of the world & after awhile they forgot everything but the good & true things they would do someday.


Just F riends- Storypeople $30

Just Friends- Storypeople $30

I saw them standing there pretending to be just friends, when all the time in the world could not pry them apart.


Beginning- Storypeople $30

Beginning- Storypeople $30

he followed the sun & she followed the stars & in dreams they listened closely for the beginning of all things, for that was where they knew they’d find each other

You Make Me Happy (Green)- Ashley G & Drew Etsy Seller $20

You Make Me Happy (Green)- Ashley G & Drew Etsy Seller $20

Elephant Love- JulieAnna Etsy Seller $15

Elephant Love- JulieAnna Etsy Seller $15

( I have friends who got engaged on an elephant in Thailand. This might be cute for them.)

Come Fly With Me- Carambatack Design- Etsy Sller $20

Come Fly With Me- Carambatack Design- Etsy Seller $20

Love Tree 2 Limited Edition- Carambatack Design- Etsy Seller $22

Love Tree 2 Limited Edition- Carambatack Design- Etsy Seller $22


