By Kerry Reichs

The Best Day of Someone Else’s Life
Due out May 6, 2008

Special Price $11.16 on Amazon.com

There’s a new book due out in May that takes 27 Dresses and combines it with the wittiness of Jennifer Weiner’s characters in In Her Shoes and The Guy Not Taken: Stories, and the sassy friendships and relationship antics of Candace Bushnell’s Sex and the City and Lipstick Jungle.

I thought it was just going to be another Chick Lit book, which I’ll admit, I do like, but it sat on my bedside table for awhile before I gave in. But, it’s not half bad. Predictable? Yes. Enjoyable? You bet.

As someone who’s attended several weddings and is and will be gracing the aisle for several more, this book makes light of the nonsense you come across while planning, buying, and attending someone else’s wedding and looking for love for yourself in all the wrong places.

It’s easy to identify with the 27-year-old heroin, Kevin “Vi” Connelly, who is literally a serial wedding guest/bridesmaid and takes us through the hilarious and sometimes trivial requests of her closest friends. But she loves the romance of weddings and despite being inundated with one after another, she tries not to lose site of the real reason for it all.

This is my favorite sum up of the book from the back cover.

“Eleven weddings in eighteen months would send any sane woman either over the edge or scurrying for the altar. But as reality separates from illusion, Vi learns that letting go of someone else’s story to write your own may be harder than buying the myth, but just might help her make the right choices for herself.”

I have eleven weddings in eighteen months. I feel like this is my story too, and I can only hope it ends the same 🙂

It’s definitely worth checking out.

